GOVERNMENT ORGANIZATIONS

Atomic Energy Control Board, the National Energy Board, and the Interprovincial Boundary Commissions report to Parliament through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources. Operationally the International Boundary Commission reports through the Minister of Energy, Mines and Resources; in dealing with its counterpart in the United States it is responsible to the Secretary of State for External Affairs.

Department of the Environment. Established by Act of Parliament in June 1971 (SC 1970-71, c.42), this Department carries the main federal responsibility for leading the attack on all forms of pollution and ensuring the proper management and development of Canada's resources. The Department is organized into two principal components: Fisheries and Marine Services and Environmental Services. Each component is headed by a senior Assistant Deputy Minister. The responsibilities of the Fisheries and Marine Services include hydrography and oceanography and administration of small craft harbours, as well as recreational, commercial and international aspects of fisheries research, development and operations in three oceans and in inland waters. Environmental Services is responsible for the Atmospheric Environment Service, the Environmental Protection Service and the Environmental Management Service.

The Atmospheric Environment Service is responsible for the acquisition and processing of data and the provision of climatological and meteorological information. The Service maintains a national system to provide weather forecasts and current weather information to the general public, aviation and special users. This organization carries out research on air quality and environmental matters, and research to support the weather observing and forecasting system.

The Environmental Protection Service develops and enforces environmental protection regulations, standards, protocols and other protection and control instruments used to implement federal environment legislation. It also provides information for other federal departments administering the legislation under which environmental regulations are to be developed. The Service develops national effluent and emission standards in consultation with the provinces and industry and is the public's point of contact within the Department on problems relating to the protection of the environment.

The Environmental Management Service was established to co-ordinate activities concerning inland renewable resources, their use and the impact of their use on the environment. It is composed of four directorates — Inland Waters, Forestry, Wildlife and Lands — responsible for providing data on the quantity and quality of the resources, for research into the methodologies and techniques of conservation, and for planning the use of renewable resource utilization on a national basis, as provided for in federal legislation. This Service also administers the Environmental Assessment Panel which reviews the environmental assessments required for all federally sponsored projects.

Planning and Finance provides policy and planning advice, co-ordinates the government's relationships respecting environmental and resources matters with the provinces and other countries, develops and co-ordinates a comprehensive approach to departmental science policy and research activities, and co-ordinates information services for the Department.

The Environmental Advisory Council was set up to provide advice to the Minister on the state of the environment and threats to it, priorities for federal or joint federal/provincial government action, and the effectiveness of the Department's efforts to restore, preserve or enhance the quality of the environment. A Forestry Advisory Council and a Fisheries Advisory Council were established to report to the Minister on specific areas of responsibility relative to renewable resources. The advisory bodies review programs, assess impact and provide links with organizations outside government. The Councils include representatives from industry, the universities and the scientific community as well as the Department of the Environment.

Department of External Affairs. The main function of the Department of External Affairs, established in 1909 (RSC 1970, c.E-20), is the protection and advancement of Canadian interests abroad. The Minister responsible for the Department is the Secretary of State for External Affairs. The senior permanent officer (Deputy Minister) of the Department, the Under-Secretary of State for External Affairs, is assisted by an Associate Under-Secretary and by five Assistant Under-Secretaries and is advised by officers in charge of bureaus, offices and divisions. The directors-general or directors of these units are each responsible for a part of the Department's work and are assisted by foreign service officers, administrative services officers and specialists in various occupational groups, as well as by an administrative staff. Officers serving abroad are formally designated as High Commissioners, Ambassadors, Ministers, Counsellors, First Secretaries, Second Secretaries, Third Secretaries and Attachés at diplomatic posts and Consuls General, Consuls and Vice-Consuls at consular posts. Canada maintains approximately 177 diplomatic, consular and other missions, 63 of which are non-resident.

In Ottawa the work of the Department is conducted by four regional, seven functional and three administrative bureaus, in addition to a number of operational units performing staff or special functions. The four regional bureaus administer 12 geographical divisions, each of which is responsible for the countries that make up the region administered by the bureau to which it belongs: the European Affairs Bureau includes three divisions — Western Europe, Eastern Europe and Northwestern Europe including Britain; the Bureau of Asian and Pacific Affairs includes the East Asia, Pacific and South Asia Divisions; the Bureau of African and Middle Eastern Affairs, the African Affairs II and Middle Eastern Divisions; and the Bureau of Western Hemisphere Affairs, the Caribbean (Commonwealth), Latin American and